Elizabeth Phillips Award

This award pays tribute to Elizabeth Phillips, Professor Emerita of English, for her exceptional scholarly commitment to the advancement of women’s, gender, and sexuality studies. A monetary prize and a certificate are awarded to the best undergraduate senior capstone or honors thesis or graduate student paper (Graduate School, Divinity School, Law School) written on the subject of women’s, gender, and sexuality studies during the academic year. The winning essay is chosen from essays nominated by university faculty. Essays from fall and spring semesters are eligible and calls for nominations should be made accordingly.

Mary DeShazer Award

For the best undergraduate research or analytical paper completed in a WGSS course. Winning papers are chosen from essays nominated by faculty.

Perry Patterson Travel and Leadership Fund

The Perry Patterson Travel and Leadership Fund was established in 2015 in honor of Perry L. Patterson, Professor of Economics at Wake Forest University (1986-2013), in recognition of his dedication to the advancement of Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies at Wake Forest.

This grant is given by the Department of Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies to help undergraduate students gain the experience and exposure that comes from participating in national or regional conferences, meetings, and events focusing on LGBTQ issues as well as participating in leadership training, unpaid internships with non-profit organizations or activist groups, with specific LGBTQ emphasis. The fund (generally capped at $500) is intended to help students cover or defray some of the costs of their attendance.

Sylva Billue Award

For the best creative nonfiction, creative performance, short play, or visual art (paintings, sculptures). The award honors the late artist, feminist activist, and Department benefactor Sylva Billue.

Anne Boyle Award for Outstanding Academic Achievement

This award consists of a monetary prize and a certificate and is granted each year to the graduating senior (major or minor) who has the Department’s highest grade-point average.

The Leadership Award

Given to a graduating senior, this award is presented annually to a WGS major or minor who best exemplifies the qualities of leadership service, and professionalism.

The WGSS faculty chooses students who, while maintaining excellent academic standards, have made a significant contribution to the betterment of society through community service and/or humanitarian undertakings rooted in feminist aspirations for justice, equality, and the dignity of all people. The award consists of a certificate and a monetary prize.