Awards and Funds

Elizabeth Phillips Award for the Best Essay in Women’s, Gender and Sexuality Studies:                                                                                              This award pays tribute to Elizabeth Phillips, Professor Emerita of English, for her exceptional scholarly commitment to the advancement of women’s and gender studies. A monetary prize and a certificate will be awarded to the best undergraduate or graduate student essay written in the subject of women’s and gender studies throughout the academic year. The essay will be chosen from a list generated by the teaching faculty of the Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Department. The first Elizabeth Phillips Award was presented during the spring of 2007 to mark fifty years since her appointment to Wake Forest University (1957-1989).
See past recipients.

The Perry Patterson Travel and Leadership Fund:
The Perry Patterson Travel and Leadership Fund was established in 2015 in honor of Perry L. Patterson, Professor of Economics at Wake Forest University (1986-2013), in recognition of his dedication to the advancement of Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies at Wake Forest. This grant is given by the Department of Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies to help undergraduate students gain the experience and exposure that comes from participating in national or regional conferences, meetings, and events focusing on LGBTQ issues as well as participating in leadership training, unpaid internships with non-profit organizations or activist groups, with specific LGBTQ emphasis. The fund (generally capped at $500) is intended to help students cover or defray some of the costs of their attendance.

The Academic Award for Outstanding Senior:
This award consists of a monetary prize and a certificate, is granted each year to outstanding WGS majors or minors in their senior year who have shown initiative and motivation throughout their tenure at WFU, and who have excelled in a variety of academic disciplines and special projects. Such exceptional students must have maintained a high scholastic average and have demonstrated aptitude for further study in order to be nominated by the Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies faculty. This award was instituted in 1995.
See past recipients.

The Leadership Award for Outstanding Senior:
This award is presented annually to WGS majors or minors who best exemplify the qualities of leadership, service and professionalism. The WGS faculty chooses students with excellent academic records who have made a significant contribution to the betterment of society through community service and/or humanitarian undertakings, and who have promoted the educational value of racial, cultural and gender diversity. Consisting of a certificate and a monetary prize, the award was instituted in 1994.
See past recipients.